2021 Indy Pro 2000 Team champions now linked from F1600 through to Indy Lights

SASKATOON, SK (November 3, 2021) – As the only open-wheel racing team in North America with its own internal development ladder system running from F1600 racing into the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires, Exclusive Autosport is thrilled to announce that after a hiatus due to Covid 19, it will expand once again in 2022 by making its debut in the top-level Indy Lights program. Coinciding with the anniversary of its tenth year of competition, the growing operation has acquired two brand new Dallara IL-15 chassis and plans to field two entries next season. The team was initially set to make its debut in the Indy Lights program in 2020 but, due to the season being canceled, the team made the decision to focus solely on their USF2000 and Indy Pro 2000 programs for an extended period. This resulted in the operation’s first Road to Indy Team Championship, winning the prestigious honor in the Indy Pro 2000 Championship this season. Armed with this momentum and taking the opportunity to leverage the growing momentum in the Indy Lights program, Exclusive Autosport is excited to finally complete its platform along the entire RTI ladder. The team has already signed its first Indy Lights driver for 2022, and this announcement will be made in the near future.

“We are really excited to get back into the Indy Lights series,” enthused Michael Duncalfe, Team Principal. “Even though we purchased two used IL15 cars previously, due to Covid, we were only able to use them for private testing. We will enter the 2022 season with two brand-new Dallara IL15 chassis, a very experienced crew, and an incredibly talented driver already signed. We are extremely optimistic about our chances in Indy Lights and will be building from the positive momentum of winning the Indy Pro 2000 Team Championship. We are really looking forward to the 2022 season getting underway.”

Using F1600 racing as its launching pad into the world of open-wheel competition, Exclusive Autosport is the winningest team in the Canadian Formula 1600 competition over the last six years, having scored 16 titles in the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship (Ontario) and the F1600 Canada (formerly Formula Tour in Quebec) programs. The team has also found success in the Formula Race Promotions F1600 Championship, winning the title in 2015. EA returned to American F1600 competition in 2021 scoring four wins and finishing third in the championship. The Canadian-owned operation has grown steadily over the last five years, having expanded from their multi-time championship-winning F1600 team in 2017 when they purchased and ran four Tatuus USF-17 cars to debut in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship. Expansion continued in 2018 when they added their Indy Pro 2000 Championship program, and since then, the team has continued to be one of the top running programs to compete within the RTI series, racking up a combined 19 wins, 48 podiums, 16 poles, and one team championship.

In 2022, Exclusive Autosport will become the only team with its own driver development ladder that reaches from F1600 through to Indy Lights, providing a direct road for a driver with the quest to one day run in the NTT INDYCAR Series.

“INDYCAR is pleased to see Exclusive Autosport make the move to Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires,” said Levi Jones, Director of Indy Lights. “Seeing an established team use the Road to Indy platform to expand their reach is tremendous. It is a team with a championship pedigree and a program that will push everyone in the 2022 championship. We look forward to working with Michael and his group as we continue to elevate Indy Lights.”

Exclusive Autosport is pleased to be able to partner with a great company – Corpay Cross-Border Solutions (https://cross-border.corpay.com/exclusive-autosport/) –  who specialize in helping companies of all sizes power their international payments, execute plans to manage their currency risk and support their growth around the world.


Wins – 138
Podiums – 291
Poles – 122
Championships – 20

Wins – 7
Podiums – 18
Poles – 7

Indy Pro 2000:
Wins – 9
Podiums – 30
Poles – 12
Championships – 1